Category Archives: book reviews

Review and Excerpt Tour for MAKE ME FALL by Sara Rider!

Enemies make the worst neighbors, but the best lovers in Sara Rider’s MAKE ME FALL, the second book in her standalone Books & Brews series. Eli doesn’t have a lot of sympathy for his uptight neighbor, Nora, until he hears about her “un-datable” status and all it takes is one disastrous date with Nora for Eli to fall hard. Fans of Lauren Layne, Jenny Holiday’s ONE AND ONLY, and THE FINE ART OF FAKING IT by Lucy Score will devour this opposites attract, fun buy sexy romance.  

 

Title:  Make Me Fall
Author: Sara Rider
Release Date: September 24, 2018
Publisher: Self-published
Series: Books & Brews #2
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Page Count: 226

Synopsis:

 

After losing her job, her home, and her friends in her divorce, Nora Pitts is determined not to make the same mistakes when she starts over in the small town of Shadow Creek, Washington. No more toiling away in the lab at the expense of her social life, and definitely no more men. Ever.  But making friends in her thirties is so much harder than she anticipated. And when it comes to her gorgeous yet obnoxious neighbor, it’s a whole lot easier to make enemies.

Eli Hardin doesn’t have a lot of sympathy for his uptight neighbor, until he overhears her so-called new friends making fun of her un-datable status. Suddenly he finds himself volunteering for a date with a woman who’s been leaving angry hate-notes in his mailbox, and in way over his head. Because all it takes is one disastrous date with Nora for Eli to fall hard.

But falling for Eli isn’t something Nora’s ready for—not when he’s her complete opposite, and especially not when he turns out to be the best friend she’s made in Shadow Creek. But as her attraction and her feelings for Eli grow hotter, resisting him might just lead to heartbreak anyway.

Continue reading

Advertisements

BOOK REVIEW!!! ~ A Nanny For The Reclusive Billionaire by Regina Kyle

Get your copy HERE!!!

 

ABOUT:

Mallory Worthington has had enough of being treated like a fragile flower. She needs to get out of Dodge, as far and fast as possible. Somewhere no one knows about her childhood battle with cancer. A talented chef working at her family’s flagship hotel, she leaps at the first job opportunity that meets her criteria – personal chef and nanny for a reclusive and insanely hot billionaire in the Florida Keys. She doesn’t know a lot about the nanny part, but how hard can it be?

Billionaire Rhys Dalton cut himself off from the world after his wife was killed. Living on this remote island was the only way he could ensure the safety of his son. Finding someone willing to help him take care of his child, well that’s been a challenge right up until Mallory knocks on his office door. She makes him think and feel things he hasn’t in years. He’s smart, so he fires her on the spot.

But she’s not going anywhere, no matter how hard he might try to get rid of her…

Continue reading

BOOK REVIEW!!! ~ His Ever After by Isabel North

Get your copy HERE!!!

 

SYNOPSIS:

Jenny Finley is finally back on her feet, two years after her ex-husband left her as a single mom with a ruined credit score and no home.

She has a steady job, a fantastic daughter, and exciting plans to start her dream business as a landscape designer. Everything’s going great until the night her not-so-secret crush, Derek Tate, six feet plus of sweetness and oh-so-much sin, shows her he could rock her world…or bring it crashing down.

Derek is patient and persistent, and he makes it clear there’s no going back. Can Jenny resist his wicked smile…does she even want to?

Stuck between a hot mechanic and a hard place, should she take what Derek’s offering, or shut him down for good?

His Ever After is a standalone friends-to-lovers romantic comedy in the Love, Emerson series.

Continue reading

BOOK REVIEW!!! ~ Cowboy SEAL Christmas by Nicole Helm

Get your copy HERE!!!

ABOUT:

Three former Navy SEALs
Injured in the line of duty
Desperate for a new beginning…
Searching for a place to call their own.

Single mom and Revival Ranch’s on-site therapist Monica Finley has dedicated her life to helping brave servicemen and women, but former Navy SEAL Gabe Cortez is the one man whose shell she just can’t crack. Yet with the holidays fast approaching, she may finally have a plan. In a bid to get Gabe to open up, she’ll ask for as much help as possible—cutting down the Christmas tree, stringing lights, the whole nine yards.

Who could possibly be a Grinch with so much holiday cheer in the air?

Gabe has always hated Christmas—the holiday never fails to remind him just how alone he truly is. But the more time he spends with Monica and her young son, the more he finds himself drawn to their cozy little family…and the more he begins to realize his long-suppressed Christmas dreams may finally be coming true.

Continue reading

BOOK REVIEW!!! ~ Blue Bayou by Jiffy Kate

Get your copy HERE!!!

ABOUT:

The road to self-discovery leads Maverick Kensington deep into the heart of New Orleans. The colorful characters, beautiful scenery and a hot mess of a woman he finds along the way offer him the perfect place to reinvent himself.

The French Quarter and Blue Bayou are exactly the change of pace he’s looking for, helping him escape the soul-sucking work he does for his father’s company.

Carys Matthews is young and inexperienced. Having her family’s hotel dropped in her lap after her mother’s untimely death, she’s struggling to keep her head above water and keep the hotel’s doors open. She doesn’t have time for relationships, but Maverick Kensington is worth an exception. Besides, his stay is temporary and a fling never hurt anyone, right?

His passion and business know-how is exactly what she needs.

Her carefree spirit is what he wants.

Their whirlwind relationship is one for the books until truths are untold and assumptions are made. Everything comes to a screeching halt just when they were getting to the good part.

There’s always been a saying around the hotel: eventually, everyone comes back to the Blue Bayou. Will Maverick be the exception?

Continue reading

BOOK REVIEW!!! ~ Claim Me, Cowboy by Maisey Yates (A Copper Ridge novel)

Get your copy HERE!!!

SYNOPSIS:

Wanted: fake fiancée for a wealthy rancher

Benefits: all your dreams come true

#1 Rule: don’t fall in love

The woman on his doorstep is brash, independent and holding a baby! His father won’t approve, which makes her perfect for Joshua Grayson’s scheme. He’ll pretend he’s marrying unsuitable Danielle Kelly to keep his father from meddling. He won’t be tempted to touch her, to claim her…or to fall in love.

Continue reading

BOOK REVIEW!!! ~ Wish I Might by Kait Nolan

Get your copy HERE!!!

ABOUT:

An heiress in hiding…
For graphic designer Cecily Dixon, building a successful life on her own terms, independent of her family’s name and wealth, has been an all-important goal. That’s why she followed her boss to tiny Wishful, Mississippi. While she’s fallen in love with the town and the work being done to bring it back to life, her internship is over and it’s time to take the next power-house step in her career…somewhere else.

A bookstore in trouble…
Reed Campbell is Wishful born and bred. He loves his small town life, and it suits him just fine. When he needs help breathing life into his struggling bookstore, the brilliant and sexy Cecily is the last person he expects to volunteer. Since one chemistry-fueled summer weekend, she’s been giving him the cold shoulder, and he can’t figure out how he blew it.

A romance with an expiration date…
Working together will start the thaw, but they both know the clock is ticking and Cecily will be moving on. Or will she? Wishful is just the right size for Reed, but can he convince Cecily that his small town can support her big dreams?

Continue reading

NEW RELEASE & REVIEW!!! ~ Why HER? by Rie Warren

Title: Why HER?
Series: Mistaken Identities #2
Author: Rie Warren
Genre: May/December Romance
Release Date: August 20, 2018
If you believe in second chances . . .
All I did was dance with her at a bar. Just once.
Then this undeniably gorgeous party girl, Stevie, turns up at my house, the contractor in charge of my remodel.
Ha!
How am I supposed to take her seriously?
The problem is she’s excellent at her job, which aggravates me even more.
She’s changing my house, changing my life, and my animal urge to protect and possess her feels like a betrayal to my deceased wife.
 
She’s absolutely unsuitable.
He’s uptight, f*** hot, and there’s no way she can compete with the ghost of his wife.
 
A book full of filthy sex and beautiful tortured romance. Why Her? is a standalone novel with a tear-worthy HEA, no cheating, no cliffhangers, just all yes. Keep the fan handy, you’ll need it.
 

Continue reading

NEW RELEASE & REVIEW!!! ~ Bedded Under the Christmastide Moon by Christina McKnight

Their marriage of convenience is about to become a marriage of love.


Available August 7th – Holiday Regency Romance, Bedded Under the Christmastide Moon by Christina McKnight.

Follow the tour and enter to #win a $10 Amazon Gift Card

Enter at: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/b050ef29557/?

Rafflecopter embed code:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Title: Bedded Under the Christmastide Room
Author: Christina McKnight
Genre: Historical Romance, Holiday, Regency
Release Date: August 7, 2018

THEIR MARRIAGE OF CONVENIENCE…

For years, Lady Melloria Whitmore has believed her childhood best friend and secret love Brigham Clarke agreed to marry her out of a sense of duty. Knowing how important Brigham’s work with Parliament is to him, she agrees to see him once a year, when he returns to his country estate for the holidays. This Christmas, Mellie vows to give Brigham the one thing he has always wanted: an heir. For one night, she’ll share his bed, and she’ll have that memory of passion to get her through the long winter nights without him.

IS ABOUT TO BECOME A MARRIAGE OF LOVE.

Except Brigham doesn’t want just one night—he wants forever. He’s loved Mellie all his life, and making her his Viscountess Whitmore was his dream. He just never thought Mellie returned his feelings. So when Mellie begins her seduction under the Christmastide moon, Brigham receives the best gift of all: his wife’s love.

Continue reading

BOOK REVIEW!!! ~ Resisting The Rancher by Kadie Scott

Get your copy HERE!!!

ABOUT:

Rusty Walker has spent her entire life trying to earn her tough, ranching father’s respect and approval by learning the business inside and out. But now her uncompromising parent has decreed she must marry if she wants to inherit. Worse, her husband has to be someone who can help her run the business. As if she needs it!

Williams Hill kissed Rusty in a bar in an act of temporary insanity, and lost his heart to her on the spot. Despite the complications to his own rodeo stock business, he agrees to marry the feisty red-head, hoping to woo her once they’re hitched. But she only views him with suspicion and resentment.

Can this soft-spoken Texas cowboy convince his proud wife, who’s never known unconditional love, that she is everything he wants?

 

 

I liked Resisting The Rancher…for the most part. While I do love a good marriage of convenience trope, I really REALLY disliked Rusty’s father. Nothing that happens throughout the story—including the ending—did anything to redeem him in my eyes and the only reason I didn’t drop a star was because he didn’t make many appearances throughout the book. But a guy who thinks his kid isn’t enough because she’s not a boy? Well that’s a character who I’m happy to see…never.

Continue reading